Club Awards Night – Celebrating Outstanding Achievement 2024

A night with the stars…


The music was playing, lights were atmospheric, contenders nervously chatted, buffet delivered and every spare chair in the pub was moved into the function room… but there still weren’t enough seats for all in attendance!  The room was buzzing!  Our club has grown over the past year and the future looks bright.  It was tremendous to see so many new members, including C25k graduates present too.


Andy and Jo led the proceedings – The new Ant and Dec?


Ladies Captain Jo Kemp put together a fantastic PowerPoint, summarising the club’s achievements over the past year.  To upload this onto our website would be tempting fate, so we’ve included a link here.  This will take you to our Facebook page.  You don’t need to register to view the PowerPoint, but we’d love you to follow our page.


Running Captains Jo Kemp and Andy Stevens, supported by vice captain Brittany Crombie and Janet and Janice our social secretaries, (who are always in the background but do so much to make these events happen) all deserve thanks.  Andy and Jo led the proceedings.


Every year we set a number of races as our Club Championships.  You don’t need to run all the races as your six best scores will contribute to your final standing.  Full details of how the Club Championships works can be found here.  It’s not too late to get involved. 



Lady’s results

Over all ladies winners:

  1. Britany Crombie, 2. Jo Kemp, 3. Claire Greenaway.

Senior female winners:

  1. Brittany Crombie, 2. Charlotte Barton, 3. Zoe Berry.

Ladies Vet 35 (to 45)

  1. Jo Kemp, 2. Claire Greenaway, 3. Lainey Carter.

Ladies Vet 45 (to 55)

  1. Sarah Bailey.

Ladies Vet 55 (to 65)

  1. Julie Williams, 2. Nikki Boyes, 3. Janet Morgan.






Men’s results

Over all men

  1. Jack Bradley, 2. Andy Stevens, 3. Chris Brenchley.

Senior Men

  1. Jack Bradley, 2. Dan Grech, 3. Jude Wood.


  1. James Figgins, 2. Matt McCarthy, 3. Matt Finch.


  1. Andy Stevens, 2. Chris Brenchley, 3. Simon Cowdrey.


  1. Steve Suttle, 2. Pete Heath, 3. Mark Hadden.


  1. Phil Cope, 2. Terry Brightwell.




There are lots more photos on our Instagram reel here.

The male Cross Country Cup winner was Matt McCarthy and ladies Cross Country  Cup winner Brittany Crombie.

Men’s Captain’s award

Matt McCarthy (who was unfortunately unable to attend), won the prestigious Men’s’ Captain’s award.

Captain Andy Stevens said “His running has progressed significantly over the last couple of years and he is now firmly established as one of the fastest runners in the club.  He has thrown himself into club competitions such as summer relays, cross country and and club championships.  Matt also listens to all the advice given and has a great attitude towards his own running development.  He is a very popular member of the club and thoroughly deserves the Men’s Captain’s Award for 2023.”

Lady’s Captain’s award 

Lainey Carter won this hard fought for award.



Ladies Captain Jo Kemp said “Lainey is a relatively new member of the club.  She brings lots of positivity and enthusiasm to her running. She really got involved in the Club Championships and was a valued member of the team, helping us win a ladies V35 team medal at Larkfield 10k and the Kent short course championship.  She says she’s not the fastest, but you should see her do 100 metres at Thursday night track training! She was the only lady to submit a marathon for 2023 and I admire her ability to take on that challenge. “

Secretaries award winner Tim Kerr

Julie Williams said “I gave Tim my secretary’s award not because he’s the fittest, or fastest runner in the club. I gave it because he is a constant presence at club runs, club events, and an ever present at Cross Country, and is always the same cheerful character at every run, always encouraging others.  He is also the most dressed runner I have ever seen!!  Never less than 4-5 layers! (even more in winter).”  Unfortunately Tim couldn’t be present. 

Chairman’s award winner Jon Holl

Club Chairman Pete Heath said “Jon has been a tower of strength on a number of fronts since he joined the committee. His work on our social media has massively helped to raise the profile of the club. In addition he has been instrumental in obtaining sponsorship deals for our races, no mean feat in a hardening economic climate.  That in itself would justify my choice. However, that would overlook his most important contribution, that of chief co-ordinator of our successful Couch to 5K courses. Thanks to Jon lots of would be runners have progressed into the running fold, a great benefit to the club, and to society in general.”

Brian Snead Volunteer’s Award Ade Neaves

Club Chairman Pete Heath said  Ade was a unanimous choice across the committee for his tireless work, as a regular volunteer at our club races, and an integral part of the team that puts on the TRAC leg of the Cross Country season. This year Ade excelled himself on the day by his devotion to duty in what must have been the deepest dyke we’ve ever had. Even when he got submerged by an overbalancing runner, his smile never left his face…A True volunteer.”  See headline photo.


EIGHT EIGHT THOUSAND people have viewed the video of Ade being pulled into the freezing dyke.  If you haven’t seen the video, turn up your sound and click here.

Ade has also reinvigorated the Sunday morning run, making it suitable for all paces, with a drop out point at 55 minutes and a social get together over a cuppa afterwards. 


Truly ‘A club for all’…  As everyone headed home, Racing Greyhound staff found us some tin foil and  Jacqui Brazil collected several large plates of tasty goodies, left over from the free buffet.  She headed over to a group of homeless people in Margate and took them a late evening snack.  She said they were absolutely delighted!  What a lovely thought Jacqui and thank you for doing this.

Six Club Championships races remain (Folkestone 10 is sold out).

They are; 6th May (Bank Holiday) – Hildenborough 5, 19th May – Chislehurst Half Marathon, 16th June – Eltham 5, 7th July – Cliffe Woods 5, September (exact date tbc) – Larkfield 10k (doubling up as a Kent Championship event for 10k) and 20th October – Maidstone Half Marathon.


We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By agreeing you accept the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.

Privacy Settings saved!
Privacy Settings

When you visit any web site, it may store or retrieve information on your browser, mostly in the form of cookies. Control your personal Cookie Services here.

These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems.

PHP – To load and browse the website


In order to use this website we use the following technically required cookies

  • wordpress_test_cookie
  • wordpress_logged_in_
  • wordpress_sec

For perfomance reasons we use Cloudflare as a CDN network. This saves a cookie "__cfduid" to apply security settings on a per-client basis. This cookie is strictly necessary for Cloudflare's security features and cannot be turned off.

Decline all Services
Accept all Services