TRAC Annual Presentation Evening Results

The Annual Thanet Roadrunners AC presentation evening took place on Friday 28th February at Thanet Wanderers Rugby Club House in order to celebrate a very successful year in running.


There were awards in all age categories for our Club Championships, Track 5K Time Trials, Cross Country, The Runners Runner of the year and also a number of special awards to recognise a number of individuals running achievements.


The evening featured members old and new in what was a record attendance. There were so many inspiring award winners along with a fantastic atmosphere throughout the evening. 2019 was an incredible year for the Thant Roadrunners and we hope to see this continue into 2020.


The Award winners on the night were:


Last Year’s Race Trophies


Alan Green Memorial 10 Mile Race

1st TRAC Female – Asmaa Hatim
1st TRAC Male – Andy Stevens


Terry Brightwell’s Track & Time Trail Awards

The 5k Handicap
1st female – Julia Hermitage
1st Male – Tim Greenaway

5k Time Trial Winner – Jack Bradley

Most Improved Track Runner – Oliver Northrop

Kent Fitness League Cross Country


The Kent Fitness League is a cross-country series with races that are staged across Kent. It pits 18 different running clubs against each other through forests and muddy trails, up steep hills and down through deep dirty dykes. Its a lung busting, eyes out race to the finish line. Pacing plans go out the window  and carbon fibre road racing shoes are no use to anyone here. Adverse weather meant the series was limited to joint 5 races at Knole Park, Swanley Park, Oxleas Wood, Shorne Wood and our own Minnis Bay.


A total of 30 Thanet Roadrunners (14 women and 16 men) stepped up, embraced the conditions (some more than others) and completed at least one of the races in the series.


Overall, Thanet Roadrunners finished in 11th position out of the 18 clubs in league which was an improvement from last year’s 15th position. Our Women’s Team finished in a very impressive 9th overall which was an improvement on their 12th last season and our Men’s team finished 11th, also improving on last year’s 15th position. These improvements in positions demonstrate the hard work all of our athletes have put in over the past 12 months as Team TRAC continues to punch well above its weight in competing against Kent’s best.


After a few years of an age graded cup using all 6 KFL races. The committee agreed this year two competitors Ladies and men’s winner could be agreed by the captains as the league was cut shorter both by races and weather/safety. Two stood out as the highest achievers. Both have either also represented their workplace or club at national level.


Outstanding XC Female – Maria Skinner

Outstanding XC Male – Jack Bradley


2019 Club Championship


Ladies Vet 65

1st Gaynor Shelvey


Mens Vet 70

1st Dave Winch
2nd Phil Cope
3rd Terry Brightwell


Ladies Vet 55

1st Elizabeth Carr
2nd Pauline Pettit
3rd Heather Keen


Mens Vet 60

1st Steve Suttle
2nd Peter Heath
3rd Bill Wright


Ladies Vet 45

1st Nikki Boyes
2nd Jo Holl
3rd Julie Neaves


Mens Vet 50

1st Michael Philpot
2nd Mark Hadden
3rd Jon  Holl


Ladies Vet 35

1st Jo Jeffries
2nd Genevieve Case
3rd Julia Hermitage


Mens Vet 40

1st Chris Brenchley
2nd Andy Stevens
3rd Richard Allan


Ladies Senior

1st Abigail Cardwell
2nd Ruby Spencer
3rd Jasmine Lasslett


Mens Senior

1st John Dickerson
2nd Maxwell Hubbard
3rd Owen Mitchell


Ladies Overall Club Champions

1st Nikki Boyes
2nd Elizabeth Carr
3rd Pauline Pettit


Mens Overall Club Champions

1st Chris Brenchley
2nd Andy Stevens
3rd John Dickerson


Kent Grand Prix

The Kent Grand Prix is an individual and team league made up of 10 Kent road races of various distances.

Ladies: 12th Place out of 37 scoring ladies’ teams

Men: 3rd place overall out of 39 scoring teams with 2532 points. To note; 2nd place was Orpington 600 points ahead, 1st was Tunbridge wells with 3892 points.

Individually, our stand out performances were:

Christopher Brenchley 5th overall and 3rd V40.
David Winch 1st V70
Phil Cope 2nd V70.
Steve Suttle 5th V60.

On behalf of the club our Captains (Chris and Nikki) would like to personally thank all 34 TRACies who took part in the Kent Grand Prix events to help achieve this for our club.


Captains Awards

Men’s Captain Award – Maxwell Hubbard
Women’s Captain Award – Maria Skinner


TRAC Runners Runner of the Year

Female Runners Runner of the Year award as voted by TRAC Members – Ruby Spencer
Male Runners Runner of the Year award as voted by TRAC Members – Chris Brenchley


Secretary’s Award

Terry Brightwell


Chairman’s Award

Kevin Bullions


Special Awards

Best Supporting Female – Nikki Boyes
Best Suppporting Male – Ad Smith
Award for commitment to running – Malcolm Tait
Award for unwavering enthusiasm for TRAC – Jacqui Brazil


We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By agreeing you accept the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.

Privacy Settings saved!
Privacy Settings

When you visit any web site, it may store or retrieve information on your browser, mostly in the form of cookies. Control your personal Cookie Services here.

These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems.

In order to use this website we use the following technically required cookies

  • wordpress_test_cookie
  • wordpress_logged_in_
  • wordpress_sec

For perfomance reasons we use Cloudflare as a CDN network. This saves a cookie "__cfduid" to apply security settings on a per-client basis. This cookie is strictly necessary for Cloudflare's security features and cannot be turned off.

PHP – To load and browse the website


Decline all Services
Accept all Services